1,000 Awesome Things

When I’m really upset over something–really upset, not just pouting– I can’t sleep.  Ever since my friend (who is 40 years my senior) was diagnosed with ovarian cancer two weeks ago, I’ve had a lot of problems falling asleep.  This has led to my getting my days and nights confused, and I’m basically an insomniac now.

Last Christmas, my husband’s best friend stayed with us and got me hooked on http://www.fmylife.com: it caters to my morbid curiosity, I guess.  But… it’s not at all fulfilling, and it definitely doesn’t help me to think about “whatever things are lovely…true…pure” (Phil 4:8).

Tonight [really it’s morning], I’ve found a host of more positive blogs.  “1,000 Awesome Things” is one of those blogs (www.1000awesomethings.com).  If you visit the blog, check out my favorites (they’re only in the top 400s now):  #473, #467, #462, #455, #456 and #451.
So… I have become inspired.  Inspired to start rebelling against my husband’s calling me “emo” and against my hatred of all things rosy and glass-half-full.

Could I think of 1,000 awesome things?  I don’t know.  I don’t think so…. but I can try.  I could even have repeats and no one would know but me 🙂

Will I post one awesome thing a day? No.  That’d take, like, three years (remember, I’m an English teacher.  I can’t do math!).  Starting now, at 4:05am, I will try to post a few things which I feel are awesome (in no particular order).

[It is now 4:20, and I have erased my list. It was too…. obvious? big? It wasn’t good]

1. There is one full glass of Dr. Pepper in the fridge.
2. Not only was that item true, it was more than “glass-half-full.”

Awesome.

Leave a comment